Tagging Thyme Meme: 11 Random Questions…

A few weeks ago the lovely Margaret E. Alexander (of the Story Addict Blog Fame) tagged me to play this meme of silly questions. Thanks Margaret! And because I am the kind of person that likes to embrace silly (and because there is a Tolkienesque question included), I was happy to play along. So here is my take:

1. What is the strangest thing you have ever eaten in public?

I did try chicken’s feet once at a chinese restaurant. But as a rule I’m not very adventurous when it comes to weird food.

I do, however, remember backpacking in Scotland on a very tight (student) budget. One night we have enough money for an order of hot chips for me – and a deep-fried haggis for hubby (there is no accounting for taste). To my disgust they put the deep-fried haggis on top of my chips. Needless to say I preferred to go hungry that night.

I can’t say haggis does anything for me to start off with – but I can not imagine deep-frying improves it all…

2. If you had to go on an adventure, with elves, dwarves, or hobbits, who would you take and why?

If you know me at all, you will appreciate I really had to put some thought into this one. My gut reaction was elves of course; lembas bread, cool gear – swords, rope, magical items and flash travelling garb – and yes I’m shallow, Orlando Bloom did come to mind. But then it occurred to me, being in elvish company would probably highlight how very unpractical I am. I’d feel like the short, frumpy, slow, hanger-on. So maybe I’ll pass on the elves.

I don’t know that I’d cope with the dwarves either. In my reading they seem to be gruff, forthright and even when their sense of humour does come out, it can be at the expense of the stranger (poor Bilbo… chip the glasses, crack the plates). I think I’m probably too sensitive a soul to travel with the dwarves.

Which leaves the hobbits. Short, food-loving, and ultimately not afraid to crawl away from a fight. I think I might fit right in!

3. You are at a rural retreat lodge somewhere deep in Wisconsin or Canada. You are approached by a taxidermist who hands you a stuffed badger and asks you to put it in your lap. What do you do next?

I don’t think so. Will be avoiding rural retreats deep within anywhere – especially if taxidermists are rumoured to be crashing the party.

4. If you were given biscotti, would you prefer it with coffee, tea, or hot chocolate?

Although my beverage of choice is tea – biscotti tastes better with coffee. My favourite tea-dipping biscuits are Griffins Gingernuts. The ones we get in NZ are teeth-crackingly hard, but mush-up beautifully when dipped in a hot cuppa.

5. In your opinion, who is the funniest man or woman alive today (comedian)?

I like Rhys Darby and pretty much anything from Flight of the Conchords.

6. If you were given thirty seconds on television to say something, what would it be?

Hi Mum and Dad! *waves*

7. What is your idea of the most romantic date setting ever?

Warm, moonlit, deserted beach…

8. If you could go on one date with a movie or television star, who would it be and why?

What’s the point in going on one date with anyone? And I’m married… But we’re playing pretend – so Robert Downy Jr. He’s so out there, I figure you’d never know what you’d get. But it would have to be one of those dates where you go out and do cool, random things…

9. What is the worst song you have ever heard?

Anything thrash metal… Call me old-fashioned but I like a tune.

10. If you could live anywhere else, where would it be?

Scotland – in the highlands somewhere, or the Isle of Skye. Somewhere remote and misty and atmospheric appeals to the writer in me. Not so much to the Mum of two kids… But in all seriousness I love living exactly where I do now.

11. Who – in your opinion – was the greatest person to ever live?

Jesus all the way for me!

I’m supposed to tag 11 others to play along, but because not everyone likes to be tagged, I’ll throw the invite out there. If you want to participate in this meme, copy the questions and let me know where you stand (go team Hobbit!).

7 thoughts on “Tagging Thyme Meme: 11 Random Questions…

Leave a comment