Sage Advice

I read a great post yesterday by Rachel Aaron: How I Went From Writing 2,000 Words a Day to 10,000 Words a Day.  I’m not sure 10,000 words a day is realistic for me yet, but Rachel’s advice was rock solid: Identify your most productive writing time and environment, get your objective straight before you start writing, and love what you write.

The last one in particular was a real light bulb moment for me.  Essentially what she was saying was; if you are bored writing the scene, the reader probably won’t like it either.

Now I’ve been stuck writing an important transition scene for weeks.  I’ve rewritten it time and time again from the POV of my main protagonist and nothing seemed to work.  My output dried up, and I was frustrated.  Taking Rachel’s advice I sat down and thought why don’t I love this scene?  What is it about this scenario that was putting me off?  The answer was blinding clear – my character was emotionally detached from the whole proceeding.  He didn’t want to be there, and deep in his point of view neither did I.  Yet the event itself was pivotal to the story and to the world-building – it had to stay.

Once I understood the problem it was much easier to resolve.  My story is told from multiple points of view and there was another character for whom this event was both positive and life-changing.  I re-wrote the scene from her POV, and suddenly the block was gone, the words flew onto the page and I feel like I’ve finally have a grip on the story again.  It’s not perfect by any means, but a great burden seems to have lifted.

So thank you Rachel Aaron, I am truly grateful!

How about you?  Have you received any timely advice lately? 

Leave a Reply

