Plays Well with Others

This weekend it appears I’ve been tagged for all sorts of blog awards and challenges.  For a new blogger just reaching out into the big wide world – it’s great to feel the world reaching back.  Thanks to you all.  So just this once, (because I know I’m the kind of soul that could just keep doing this to the detriment of the writing) I’m going to play!

THE BEAUTIFUL BLOGGER AWARD:

I’ve actually been nominated for this twice now.  Thanks to Melanie Rose Meadors and E. M. Castellan.

Like Chinese Whispers, the rules seemed to be slightly different with each nomination, so I’ll run with my version.

1.  Give gracious thanks to those who nominated me: In the spirit of your nomination, thank you!  I appreciate you visiting my blog and being so kind about it.

2. Share seven things about myself (that aren’t well known):

  • My great-grandfather, Harold Marsh, was a pioneering farmer and photographer.
  • I know how to milk a cow.
  • My first ever story (in its entirety) read:  “This is Raewyn’s pie.”  Note my masterful use of the apostrophe at the age of 5…
  • The hospital I was born in was once a prisoner of war camp, and the doctor who delivered me was Dr Kildaire.  (True story – woman of my mother’s generation were very taken with Richard Chamberlain’s tv persona of the same name).
  • I have an unnatural fixation with American Idol, The X-factor and The Voice (Australia).
  • I have been asked if I am German, Welsh, Greek and Asian.  I am in fact part NZ Maori, and the rest a mixture of my pioneering ancestors who came primarily from the UK.
  • I have a scar on my finger that reminds me to think before I act.  When I was a child I was watching my father saw a piece of timber.  I thought I wonder what would happen if I put my finger under there…

3. Seven great writing blogs that have inspired me, and are truly worthy of being nominated for a truckload of awards:

  • Janice Hardy’s: The Other Side of the Story.  Great, great practical writing tips from an author who really gives back to the writing community.  (I have a bit of a blog-crush).
  • Rachelle Gardner’s blog.  Rachelle is an agent who always has something helpful  and thought-provoking to say.
  • Kristin Nelson’s: Pub Rants. Another awesome agent blog with great insights into the publishing industry.
  • Aimee Salter’s: Seeking the Write Life.  Helpful writing tips and a  friendly forum to share the writing journey.
  • E.M. Castellan’s blog.  I’m probably not supposed to nominate someone who has already nominated me – but a fellow fantasy blogger I really enjoy!
  • Jim Denney’s blog.  An intelligent, interesting blog (and a fellow LOTR fan).
  • Wordserve Water Cooler.  Compiled by a range of published authors who always seem to have something helpful / inspiring to say.

I’m not much of a tagger – but kudos to all on this list.  They all deserve the title of Beautiful Blogger!

THE LUCKY 7 MEME:

Thanks again for the tag E. M. Castellan.

Rules: Share 7 lines from page 7 or 77 of your work in progress.   Then tag 7 others to do the same.

Well I’ve already shared from page 7 of my WIP  on this blog, and I’m only up to page 73 in the draft, so will give you a taste of 7 lines from page 70:

I pushed myself up on my elbows, a cold fear gripping my gut.

“Simon?”

He turned and handed me a robe, dropping my slippers onto the floor.  In the candlelight his white hair stood up in fluffy tufts, and his dressing gown gaped slightly to reveal a crumpled nightshirt.  It was more shocking than if he’d walked in stark naked.  Simon the unflappable; Simon the stickler for protocol.

Lord, what’s going on?

Like I said, I’m not much for tagging, but it is fun to share!

THE NEXT BEST THING CHALLENGE:

Thanks Jennifer Wagner for the tag!

In this one I need to answer the following questions and tag 5 people…

1. What is the title of your book/WIP?

The Fall of the Kings

2. Where did the idea for the book come from?

It was a fireside story told by one of the characters in an earlier NaNoWriMo effort.  It was an eight page info dump that enchanted me.  A girlfriend suggested it was a novel in and of itself.  I resisted the idea for a long time, but eventually realised she was right.

3. What genre would your book fall under?

Epic Fantasy

4. Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

A hard one, because I see the characters so clearly in my mind.  The only person who comes to mind is Matt Damon for Josiah.  I’m not sure that he’s old enough, but his performance in We Bought a Zoo, reminded me of Josiah’s grief.

5. What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Can Josiah overcome his grief and do the right thing by the Kingdom of Gaelladorn? More of a story question than synopsis.  Will keep working on it.

6. Is your book published or represented?

Not yet.  Still working on the first draft.

7. How long did it take you to write?

So far, off and on, about a year.

8. What other books within your genre would you compare it to?

I’d like to think it resonates with:

J.R.R. Tolkien – Lord of the Rings

Terry Goodkind – Wizards First Rule

Kristin Brittain – Green Rider

Patrick Rothfuss – The Name of the Wind

9. Which authors inspired you to write this book?

J.R.R Tolkien, C.S. Lewis.

10. Tell us anything else that might pique our interest in your book.

Marcus will find what he’s looking for, but is totally unprepared for what he will unleash on Gaelladorn and in his own life.

Thanks again to all taggers!  But I’m going to call quits on any more challenges.  Have a great weekend!

5 thoughts on “Plays Well with Others

  1. I’m so glad you participated!! I love these sneak peeks into your writing world ;). However, I am in the same boat as you. The challenges/awards need to be placed aside for a bit so the focus on writing can resume. 🙂 Congratulations on all your awards!!

    1. Yes. I will set boundaries..!?. But while uninterrupted writing time is hard to come by, this has been kind of fun. Even if the kitten almost published mid-draft.

      Thanks again Jen.

  2. I’m glad you decided to participate, I really wanted to know more about The Fall of the Kings! I love your 7 lines, that’s a cool excerpt. I’m going back to writing myself, I promise to try and refrain from nominating you for any more memes/awards this week 😉

Leave a Reply

