Breaking Through: Postcards from NaNo – Day 7

Dear Blog Family,

The metaphorical sun has come out today. (The actual sun did too – in patches – but the southerly had icy fingers so didn’t really count). Which is a round about way of saying I’m feeling better. A visit to the chemist (not nearly as exciting as the apothecary of my book) has minimised symptoms of the tiny ninja attack considerably and I’m back on the NaNo war-path. *brandishes sword enthusiastically*

Good things also happened on the page. A few of my characters got cross. One had a fight with a long skirt which frustrated her no end, but really entertained me. I met a character I’ve been dying to for a while and to my surprise he’s rather yummy in a great-character-to-write sort of way.

Miscommunication. Potential for disaster. Being in the wrong place at the right time. Oh how I love to write. And why I think NaNo is more about attitude than wordcount. At least it’s kept me going when normally I’d have been off to bed with a hot water bottle.

Today’s word count: 1312 little bytes of goodness. Total word count: 5390. If I keep this up I might hit 20K!

Big things happening in the world today. Hope you’re all keeping well!

Yours contentedly, consistently and adverbally,

Raewyn (the girl in the NaNo bubble)

6 thoughts on “Breaking Through: Postcards from NaNo – Day 7

  1. Agree completely! The challenging of cramming as many words in as possible it fun, but the best part is not giving yourself a chance to think – just letting the story take over and seeing what comes out of it.

    1. Thanks for that. I’m trying to celebrate what I’ve acheived rather than where I should be on the NaNo line. Besides family rocks too – hope you had a great visit. Now turn on the Sesame Street and remember I’m cheering you on too. Happy writing!

Leave a Reply

