Feeling Pepped: Postcards from NaNo – Day 8

Dear Blog Family,

How are you today? Just because I’m doing NaNo doesn’t mean I don’t think of you often (and no it isn’t just procrastination…).

We had a great pep-talk email at NaNo today. Lindsey of Team NaNo asked us to imagine November all nice and normal without our fledgling novels:

Imagine your laundry is folded, your pillow creased from adequate use, dinner is cooked, socks are matching, your shoes are shined… but no novel.

And you know I did feel sad thinking how flat December would be if I didn’t give it a good go. So despite a head that feels as fuzzy as bowl of cotton balls, I went back to storyland and chased my characters through a garden right to the foot of the Heartstone.  Was quite fun. Tomorrow they’ll have a revelation of sorts – only I’m not sure what it is. Can’t wait to find out though!

Today’s word count: 1417. *grins*. Total word count: 6807. Is slowly adding up!!!

Yours hopefully,

Raewyn (the weary little hobbit)

4 thoughts on “Feeling Pepped: Postcards from NaNo – Day 8

  1. I’m not even doing NaNo and I don’t have a creased pillow and shined shoes. *sigh* Of course, I also won’t have a first draft done by the end of the month. *bigger sigh* That’s a great word count so far. Keep pushing! 🙂

    1. Thanks again. Yeah I know what you mean about the pillow and shoes – but of course that’s only because of NaNo… *waits for bolt of lightning to strike*

      It’s a good excuse to push through the first draft – and didn’t I hear a rumour about 750 solid first draft words hitting the page yesterday (yeah definately read it on the internet!)? Sounds good to me!

Leave a Reply

