Comparing Apples and Oranges: Postcards from NaNo – Day 11

Hello faithful blog-friends,

After a wee bout of NaNo word-count envy yesterday, I had to give myself a good talking to about realistic expectations.

‘Self’, I said. ‘Comparisons are rarely constructive. Stop looking at other people’s word counts. These people are apples. You are an orange (or perhaps a kiwifruit). You need to love your word count just as it is.’

Seemed reasonable, so a gentle run at the WIP tonight. I’ve picked up Josiah’s POV again, although it’s been strange writing in first person. I’ve been seeing cracks in the plot due to major pantsing issues, but instead of editing or rewriting, I’ve just left lots of notes to go back and change or add in details later. It’s strangely liberating, and the story seems to be progressing well.

Today’s word count: 786. Total word count: 10,793.

Yours realistically,

Raewyn (I prefer raspberries…)

Postscript: After puddling around on the internet I’ve found writers tend to use a wide range of spellings to cover the term pantster (or pantser) – which is generally accepted to mean writing by the seat of ones pants, making up the story as you go along, or writing without a plan. The same seems to be true of the verb: pantsting / pantsing…

9 thoughts on “Comparing Apples and Oranges: Postcards from NaNo – Day 11

  1. Can I ask you a question? I’ve been following your blog, and I’m writing a fantasy, a myth-form kind of story. Mine cannot close in 50,000 words. Are you intending to finish yours in 50,000 words, or make it longer and do it by Nov 30, or do as much as you can this month?

    1. First, thanks so much for the follow – I really appreciate you taking the time.

      Mine definitely won’t finish in 50,000 words. Probably closer to 100,000 in first draft form (guessing here). I knew it wasn’t realistic to hit the 50,000 NaNo goal this month (too many family commitments), but figured I could still get something out of it by setting my own goals. These are to write every day without editing (a biggie for me), and to send these postcards (to keep my blog alive and also for accountability).

      When I stop looking longingly at other people’s word counts, I’m actually thrilled that my draft is coming along so well. I was already about 25K in before I started NaNo – so I’m hoping this will be the push to keep going after NaNo.

      By the way I love Princess Madison Jayne.

      1. I’ve got to finish Princess Madison Jayne! C.S. Lewis was right: kids grow up faster than books.
        I’m kind of on the same page. I’m trying to do 50,000 this month, but it is an 80,000 word project. I’m cheating a little. If I could shave out a couple of day writing retreats, I might be good. I have a complex story.
        THanks for sharing!

  2. O.o ? …

    Pardon my American ignorance, but what is “pantsTing”? I’ve heard of pantsing – the act of pulling down another’s pants as a practical joke – but that doesn’t seem to fit…

    1. Not sure it’s in the dictionary – but if you are a planner the verb for what you do is planning; if you are a pantster (one who writes by the seat of their pants) the verb is pantsting… Or that’s what I meant anyway. (Probably not a real word… but that’s never stopped me before)!

      Then again I had never heard of pantsing either – whoops. I can see why you were taken aback. It’s really not that kind of blog…LOL.

    2. Actually looks like I was being inconsistent with the spelling anyway… apparently elsewhere on the blog I’ve called it pantsing. *facepalms* But what I mean to say is – writing without a plan…

      1. LOL! Well, I’m glad you were referring to a planning style (or lack thereof) and not a string of pranks. Now I’ll know what you mean the next time it comes up on your blog. =0D

Leave a Reply

