Nuggets of Gold: Postcards from NaNo – Day 12

Dear friends of my blog,

Greetings from the 12th day of NaNo. Sadly no Partridge in a Pear tree though. It’s not been a festive sort of day.

In truth the writing has felt a bit flat. In the battle between quality and quantity – quality is getting a bit of a bashing. And if I’m honest, it’s hard to turn a blind eye. I keep reminding my inner-editor that December is coming and the hatchet can come out then.

What keeps me steamrolling through, is the smattering of gold nuggets I’m finding in this roughest of drafts. These are the flashes of a character’s heart I’ve been struggling to see. Or reactions that were totally unexpected. And in one magnificent case, one of the characters has offered a whole new perspective on how to tell my epic tale.

Will it fly? I’m not sure. But doing NaNo there’s no danger I’m going to overthink it…

Today’s word count: 1,366. Gold nuggets? For sure! Total wordcount 12,159.

Yours with sprinkles of gold-dust,

Raewyn

7 thoughts on “Nuggets of Gold: Postcards from NaNo – Day 12

  1. Gold nuggets are good, keep panning. 🙂 That qality vs quantity battle is a toughy, but just keep a tight rein on the editorial brain until December. You’re nearly half-way there.

      1. Excellent plan. Nuggets of chocolate. That always gets my inner-editor to stop. At least until the chocolate runs out.

  2. You are doing an excellent job! We are very similar in the fact that I am constantly at war with my inner-critic and find it hard to move on from a scene that doesn’t feel right. I write and write until it works and then I figure I will come back to tear it apart later.
    I am a panster mostly when it comes to writing and I figure out a lot on the way – including a lot about my characters but that can get tricky because they can be elusive buggers when they want to be!
    Next year I hope to join you in Nano – but alas this year I have too much on my plate. I’m doing Holly Lisle’s ‘How to Think Sideways’ course and I’m really far behind. For someone who writes with an over-zealous inner-editor it’s been great. I recommend you check it out.
    Chin up! Keep going!

    1. Thanks so much for the support – it is good to try different things to push your writing (although not always easy). I will check out ‘How to Think Sideways’ course. – Good to hear of things that help!

Leave a Reply

