Overcoming the Mehs: Postcards from NaNo – Day 13

Dearest Blog Family,

What a day. Almost half way through this NaNo junket and I succumbed to a severe case of the mehs; the delightful feeling you get when you can’t summon up any enthusiasm for the task at hand.

Everything else suddenly looked more attractive than writing. The pile of unread books by my bed seemed unusually promising. The telly offered a plethora of fascinating documentaries. I even had an overwhelming urge to clean the fridge… Don’t get me wrong I didn’t act on it, but it was still disturbing.

Because if I’m not loving writing right now – does that mean it’s become work?

No. No. No. No!

Desperate times called for desperate measures. I had to kindle the fire in my belly, take the characters by the horns and find some serious love for my story. Quantity does not have to equal mush.

So I dragged Josiah out of bed and made him address the council members in the early hours of the morning (his not mine). And I messed with his head. The bad guys, (playing a long game) appeared nice, and some of the good guys looked bad. Now he doesn’t know who to trust – especially those closest to him.

It was fun! And the mehs were blown right off the page.

Today’s word count: 1493. Take that mehs. Total word count: 13,652.

Yours triumphantly,

Raewyn (the meh kicker).

2 thoughts on “Overcoming the Mehs: Postcards from NaNo – Day 13

Leave a Reply

