Who Am I? Postcards from NaNo – Day 14

To my dear blog friends,

For the first time since November ticked over I felt like I didn’t try very hard at NaNo today. (And when you’re not being strict on the word count – trying is pretty important).

But I do at least have a writing-related excuse. Next month a new blog is being born: There and Draft Again – A Fellowship of Fantasy Writers. And I’m going to be part of it! The thing is my writerly bio and photo is due tomorrow. *thunder crashes in the distance*

Now apart from a phobia of cameras (yes the size of my photo on this blog is not lost on me… trust me it is more to do with not figuring out how to shrink it) – it’s really hard to write a writing bio. Harder even than writing 1,667 words per day. Especially when you haven’t published much.

I did think about embellishing a little: Hugo Award Winner and New York Times Best Selling Author of the Heartstone Chronicles, Raewyn Hewitt has been writing with Stephen King-like brilliance since she was old enough to hold a pen. Too much right? And people can check on Google.

Or taking a minimalistic approach: Raewyn Hewitt writes epic fantasy. But don’t I sound mysterious?… No?

After a lot of hitting delete I did come up with something that might be appropriate – if not exactly riveting. But before I send it in (tomorrow) I’d love to hear your thoughts on what you think should go into a writing bio. Do you even read them?

And lest we forget I was supposed to be at NaNo – I did stick my head in. Briefly. Today’s word count: 372. Total word count: 14,024.

Yours perplexedly,

Raewyn (whoever that really is)

11 thoughts on “Who Am I? Postcards from NaNo – Day 14

  1. Just sent my bio off last night. The photo . . . argh. I prefer to be on the taking end of a camera. Personally, I like bios with a little bit of humor, a personal touch, and a glimpse at who the writer is outside of writing. Okay, that’s silly, of course. Life outside of writing. Sure. 😉 But seriously. when I’m reading an author’s bio I don’t care what their publishing credentials are, I want to know who they are and why I should bother reading their book.

    1. *head on desk* is there life outside of writing? Mine is very glamorous… involves a lot of running around behind children minimising the carnage. Sometimes I even brush my hair… Hmm don’t suppose that will encourage you to read my book either…

      1. “running around behind children minimizing the caranage” becomes “Spends her free time reconstructing habital environments in the wake of Impish disasters.” 😉

    1. I’m sure it’s already super-awesome-sounding you over-acheiver you. I’m not so sure I’m being serious as finding it a challenge to write something about myself. Funny I have no problem sharing all my random (oh so random…) thoughts on the writing process…

    1. Absolutely. I’m quite excited about it too. Will go live on 1st December. The International Premier for the Hobbit movie is in Wellington later this month and it’s a good excuse to go into town and stalk the red carpet. (Not that I need one really). The whole town goes a bit middle-earth nuts and I missed the last one because I was pregnant. Hard to believe that baby is now 8!

      1. How exciting that you get to go stalk the Red Carpet! Or you going to actually watch the premier, too? Or just the celebrities? You have a beautiful country. It makes a wonderful Middle Earth.

        By the way, I was also pregnant when Return of the King came out. =0)

  2. Hi, I found your blog on accident searching for what other writers think of Terry Goodkind’s writing. One of the search results was your post about how learning to write changed the way you read. I can certainly relate:) This is the first blog I’ve ever “followed.”

    Unfortunately I don’t know anything about bios or how to write them. But I do know I only care about the life and accomplishments of a writer if I really like their work. The other side of that is if I don’t like their work it doesn’t matter who they are or what they’ve accomplished. Also, if their story is great it’s sort of cool if they are a no body.

    1. I’m so glad you enjoyed it Ben – and I really appreciate the follow! You’re right that at the end of the day it really is about the writing – you either like the story or you don’t.

      Of all the writers I have looked up Terry Goodkind certainly seems to garner the most polar responses. People seem to love him or hate him. I’ve enjoyed many of his books and have the hugest respect for him as a writer.

Leave a Reply

