Veering Off Course: Postcards from NaNo – Day 15

Dear Blog Family,

I’ve fallen asleep a few times on a train and woken up to find that I’ve not only missed my stop spectacularly, but I actually have no idea where on earth I am. It’s even worse when you’re in a foreign country, don’t have any cash on you, and the only people you know to call live on the other side of the world.

Well NaNo isn’t quite that bad. (It is virtual after all – and I am sitting in my lovely home with a cup of tea). But when I looked out the window of the Steam Clunk Express this morning I realised I had written myself into a hole of epic proportions. Ironically apt. But I had no idea how to get out of it, or who to call for help for that matter.

You see there are gaps in my plot. I have a fairly good handle on the start of the book and a great vision for the end, but that pesky middle is a bit of a mystery. I hoped if I kept writing it might work itself out. But it hasn’t. And this is where if I’m not careful this week the NaNo train is going to derail.

So new plan. *pulls emergency brake* Tomorrow no writing until I’ve sorted out my plot holes. And I don’t think it’s going to be a quick fix. The only ray of hope: no matter how dire things have seemed in the past, I’ve always managed to find my way home.

Today’s word count: 585 wandering words. Total word count: 14,609.

Yours still staring at the map,

Raewyn (suspecting it’s upside down).

6 thoughts on “Veering Off Course: Postcards from NaNo – Day 15

  1. It’s a good thing I’m not in NaNo — yesterday’s word count for me was – (yes, that’s a minus) 789. I’m first drafting, not editing, darn it. Never fear, your Steam Clunk Express will be back on track in no time. Plot holes be hanged!

    1. I feel for you. Truly I do. But the the honest truth about NaNo is the only reason the word count is going up is because the first rule of NaNo is don’t delete anything. Come December… well that’s another story altogether. Here’s to better writing for both of us today!

  2. I know just what you mean. I’m only at 11690 and today is the halfway mark, Yikes! I get sidelined by research. Just want to look up one little thing next thing I know I fallen down a rabbit hole. Loved your post.

Leave a Reply

