Shuffling After Inspiration? Thursday’s Children

thurschilbadgejpg
A weekly blog hop
where writers get together
to discuss what’s inspiring them.

Inspiration has been somewhat lacking for the past few weeks. Nothing like an overflowing schedule and lack of sleep to drive the poor thing away. In my zombie-like state I endeavoured to push through, honestly I did. But unlike the zombies in Warm Bodies there was no great comeback. The words refused to cooperate, falling onto the page with a lifeless thunk, and not bearing the slightest resemblance to the vibrant story rioting through my imagination.

Oh it’s been bad. Last week I missed Thursday’s Children. And then the anxiety set in about the blog. What if it takes years to get this novel into good shape? And to blog about writing seems dishonest when the only thing making headway on the WIP is the delete button.

This couldn’t carry on. I needed to take action!

But with no let-up in the schedule, finding alone time to recharge the creative batteries was impossible. I was going to have to woo inspiration back, even if I had to leave out milk and cookies – or really dark chocolate to do so.

Just thinking of dark chocolate made me feel better.

Why waste the limited time I had feeling frustrated, when I could just take a break. The schedule is bound to slow down in a few weeks, so I may as well enjoy the rare down-time and relax.

Inspiration quite liked this idea. When it realised I was serious, it popped out of the bushes and led me on a wild-goose-chase to the library, where it spotted something very brightly coloured indeed!

Now this book is way out of my genre. Janet Evanovich is the queen of light, comic relief. Her Stephenie Plum books, about a female bounty hunter based in Trenton, New Jersey, are full of colourful, irreverent characters and equally interesting (and unusual) happenings. The kind of book where you suspend disbelief and sit back and go with it. Because if there was ever a time I could do with a good laugh, this is it. Fortunately Evanovich hasn’t lost her touch:

De Angelo looked at Vinnie. “Who’s the fat chick?”

Everyone sucked in air.

“Excuse me?” Lula said, leaning forward, hands on hips, eyes set in her wild boar on the attack squint. “Did you just say what I think you said? Because if you said that, you better say it was a mistake. I’m a reasonable person, but I don’t stand for disrespecting and slandering. I’m a big, beautiful woman. I am not a fat chick. You don’t apologize, and I’ll squash you like a bug. I’ll step on you until you’re just a grease spot on the floor.”

There’s nothing like a good story – and this one, as unlikely as it seems, inspires me to take time to enjoy myself when things are tough.

What’s your go-to plan, when inspiration is thin on the ground?

If you’d like to join us in the Thursday’s Children Blog Hop, or to check out other inspiring posts, click on this linky. Many thanks to Rhiann Wynn-Nolet for hosting!

35 thoughts on “Shuffling After Inspiration? Thursday’s Children

  1. It depends on the day, but most of the time my muse likes chewing on my favorite video games for fuel. A lot of fellow writers seem to find that odd, but it works very well for me.
    I also read. πŸ˜‰

    1. Julia Cameron (The Artist’s Way) makes a great case for having artist’s dates. Time to do non-writing activities, to keep the creative juices flowing. I figure go with what works for you!

  2. Doing something fun and not at all writing related is definitely the best way to get that old inspiration back again. Watching a good film I find can help kick start inspiration, that and doing jobs around the house (having to do the cleaning makes me wish I was writing instead). πŸ™‚

  3. I guess I would have to agree with Kate on this one, Raewyn – just take a step back and do something different. And another idea: it may sound drastic, but sometimes the best way of getting around a lack of inspiration on one WIP ist to start a completely new story. And once you’ve been working on a new one for a while, you may find that you come up with ideas for the old one and can go back to it again with a fresh mind.

  4. You have a soft spot for Lula?
    Really?
    I always thought of you as more of a Connie in that series. You know the quiet one in the corner that you never, never ever piss off.
    Don’t know where I’d fit in though – prob the Grandmother.

  5. Reading, watching epic fantasy movies, reading . . . sometimes I just start writing something that’s been rolling in my unconscious. It may just be a character, an idea, a line. I just play with it. I have no expectations, it goes where it wants, stuff may be disconnected, but it’s rather like cleaning out the clutter.

  6. lol, that excerpt was hilarious : ) When I’m feeling uninspired I watch movies and read novels that bring me out of myself. Also, every now and then I work as a wedding videographer and following a bride & groom around on their wedding day is a great opportunity to people-watch so this also usually leaves me inspired with some kind of story.

  7. Music is my go-to. And sometimes watching lots and lots and lots of anime. Or reading a REALLY good book.

    That also sounds like a cute book. I don’t normally read in that genre, but I just may have to go take a look based on that excerpt.

    1. There is nothing like a really good book! I think we really do need that mental space to clear out the clutter and let the creative ideas stew.

      I must say Janet Evanovich is good for an easy read (and Lula has to be one of my favourite characters).

  8. The thing that helps me the most is making something – it doesn’t matter if it’s pottery, sewing, cross stitching or knitting. The act of creation (eve if it’s in a different “genre”) frees up my writing brain. πŸ™‚

  9. “Just thinking of dark chocolate made me feel better.”

    Had a good laugh at this part. Boy, I’ve felt this way and it’s so frustrating!! It’s so weird that sometimes the harder I try to be creative the less I’m able to do (and I give myself a good headache in the process) But when I let go, bam, there are the words. They’re horrible, simple, unintelligent sounding words but they’re there. Thanks for writing this and showing me another way to combat “the block”!

Leave a Reply

