The Freedom of Self-publishing: Guest Post by Kate Frost

Today I am super-excited to welcome my very first guest-blogger, the very talented Kate Frost! Kate has recently self-published her debut novel, The Butterfly Storm; a beautifully written story about love and family set in Greece and the UK. I read it in one very happy sitting this weekend – it’s the kind of book that’s easy to lose yourself in, and very hard to put down!

I’m interviewing Kate about it soon on the blog, so until then she’s here to share one of the advantages of self-publishing. I know you’ll enjoy!

The Freedom of Self-publishing

I love reading all sorts of books, both different genres and styles of writing, so doesn’t it make sense that I enjoy writing in not just one style or genre too? On my bookshelf there is literary fiction, historical novels and contemporary women’s fiction, plus a smattering of sci-fi, fantasy, thrillers, crime fiction, YA and even a handful of children’s novels. I’m as happy reading Geraldine Brooks as I am thumbing through a Stephen King novel. The books on my Kindle are even more diverse simply because I’m willing to take a chance on a novel I might not have read if it wasn’t for the affordability of eBooks. I like zombie movies but I hadn’t actually read a zombie book before getting Dead Things by Matt Darst and World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War by Max Brooks on my Kindle.

I’ve just published The Butterfly Storm, a contemporary women’s fiction novel. I loved writing it and I’ve just started a follow-up novel with the working title of The House of Stone so if readers enjoyed The Butterfly Storm then there will be another novel in the same genre that they will hopefully want to read too. That makes business sense and is what traditional publishers do. If your first book is a success then they want another one and then another in the same genre to feed the appetite of the readers who devoured the first one. Although I’m enjoying writing women’s fiction it’s not what I solely want to concentrate on. The book I wrote after finishing The Butterfly Storm was a time travel adventure/fantasy for children called Time Shifters, which I’m currently editing. The two books couldn’t be more different and yet I’m proud of both of them. After finishing The Butterfly Storm I didn’t specifically set out to write a children’s novel rather than another one for adults, it just so happened to be the next idea I had and the book I wanted to write at the time.

I’m very jealous of Raewyn writing epic fantasy. I would love to write fantasy the same way as I’ve loved writing Time Shifters and I would love to have a proper go at writing a sci-fi novel. What self-publishing gives authors is the freedom to switch between genres if they choose to. Obviously this can be tricky and you have to bear in mind that if you build up a readership for your women’s fiction those readers might not stick with you once you’ve written that gruesome crime drama or a fantasy featuring dragons. But with self-publishing you don’t have the demands of a publisher or an agent, if you want to take a risk and write something new then who’s to stop you?

So, my first published novel is contemporary women’s fiction; the next book I’m hoping to publish is a novel aimed at 8-12 year-olds; my current work in progress is also aimed at women; and as for what comes after that? Well there’s the remaining two books in the Time Shifters trilogy, a sci-fi idea that’s been knocking about my head for years, an interest in writing historical fiction set in Roman or Restoration times, and you never know I might one day have the time to write epic fantasy. In the meantime I’ll leave that up to Raewyn to write and enjoy reading it once she publishes it.

The Butterfly Storm Cover Small

Anyone who buys The Butterfly Storm between now and Friday 28th June and emails the amazon receipt to kactus@kate-frost.co.uk will be put into a prize draw to win one of two £5/$5 amazon vouchers.
Thanks Kate! I highly recommend The Butterfly Storm, so head on over to Amazon.com or Amazon.co.uk to check it out. Click here to visit Kate’s blog, and follow her on twitter @Kactus77.
14 thoughts on “The Freedom of Self-publishing: Guest Post by Kate Frost

  1. Hi Kate,
    Really interesting post – and one that resonates with me today particularly. It’s good to be reminded of the benefits of self-publishing, and freedom to write what you want is a massive one! Also, I think this freedom will stop you becoming stale, which is also a bonus. A question: once you’ve built up a readership for your women’s fiction (which I’m very sure you will), would you use a pen name to publish something wildly different, like sci-fi, say?
    Jo

    1. Hi Jo,

      Yes, I’ve read the post you published today, so I’m glad this resonates with you. If I decide to self-publish my children’s novel I’m pretty certain I will do so under ‘Kate Frost’ and not a pen name. For starters I’ve spent years writing as Kate Frost and so feel it would be a mistake to lose what I’ve already built up, however small. If I did write sci-fi I think I might be tempted by a pen name (just because I like the idea of using another name!) but again I guess it would be the case of weighing up all the pros and cons. Or I could use my initials and surname. Now there’s something to mull over… 🙂

      Kate x

    2. Jo, whether to publish under a pen name – or to build a brand is a challenge for any writer. I put so much into my writing, I want to be able to publish it under my own name – or as you’ve said Kate – a version of it. Like Kate, I read and write in a variety of genres. And although until recently I’ve really tried to keep this a blog devoted to epic fantasy, I’m meeting wonderful writers from all genres and don’t want to limit myself. (Although epic fantasy writers who follow this blog – I love connecting with you!!!).

      Maybe when I get to that elusive point of building a brand and having to market different genres I’ll think differently. It is something interesting to mull over…

  2. This was an interesting post. It’s nice to hear other positives for self publishing rather than the usual suspects. I’m a bit like you, too. I’m interested in writing in different genres. At the moment, I’m writing contemporary romance, but i’d definitely like to try my hand at YA, historical romance, women’s fiction, Sci-Fi, and maybe even horror!
    Self publishing opens up a whole host of possibilities that wouldn’t have been available if you went down the trad route.
    I love the title of your book, really nice…

    1. I love the freedom self-publishing opens up for writers, and seeing someone like Kate do it to a very high standard has made it a much more attractive option than I’d initially thought. (Still not convinced the formatting and business side of it sound fun though).

      Best of luck with your own writing. I hope the projects and varied and a lot of fun!

    2. Cassandra, I didn’t think I’d be alone in wanting to write in lots of different genres. I think it’s exciting to be able to at least try to write lots of new things – it’s just finding the time to do everything that’s the problem. Thanks for stopping by and good luck with your contemporary romance.

Leave a Reply

