The Right Thing: WIPpet Wednesday

It’s early-squirly Thursday morning here in NZ, but I’m operating on the assumption that the day isn’t really over if you haven’t gone to sleep… and it’s Wednesday where the other WIPpeteers are, so that must count for something?

In honour of the fading vestiges of the 29th of Jan, I offer you 11 sentences (2+9 = 11) from The Legend of the Kings. Aiden is still with the Frasers, and is once again trying to explain himself (I know how he feels):

“Why is it so important to you?” There was no warmth in Ian Fraser’s eyes, and the challenge hung heavy in the air.

Why indeed? Why was this so important?

Reasons swarmed up to justify his quest. Because he couldn’t live one more day trapped behind an ineffective Boundary. Because almost everyone he loved was dead. Because what was left of his life was so unbearable he needed something to fill his time. Even if it was impossible. 

But even as the painful thoughts arose, something quieter pushed at his memory.

“Because what happened wasn’t right.”

Poor Aiden.

Many thanks to K.L. Schwengel for hosting WIPpet Wednesday. Head on over to this linky to check out what the other WIPpeteers are working on.

Happy writing – and sweet dreams!

25 thoughts on “The Right Thing: WIPpet Wednesday

  1. It’s still Wednesday where I am too, in fact only mid-afternoon, so perfectly acceptable to post I say. 🙂

    This is a powerful extract. Aiden’s obviously been through and lost so much and yet that last line shows that his quest is for honourable reasons rather than simply reeking of revenge.

    1. Ah yes, if only my brain was in mid-afternoon mode…

      Aiden is one of those rare people that really wants to make things better – and in this story he has more insight into the truth than probably any other character. Whether he can make anyone listen however is another matter. He’ll have his moment, but until then it’s a pretty lonely road for him.

    1. Now that I think about it, I’ve probably stripped pretty much everything away from Aiden, and then really rubbed in what he’s lost. But what I like about him is when there is absolutely nothing left he still chooses to chase what he really knows is right.

      I’d like to say I’d made a conscious decision to do it, but this story has been fairly organic. I’m still hoping he has something of a happy ending – but I still don’t know where his part is going to end.

  2. I’ve been in similar positions….for similar reasons. I’ve paid prices for bothering.

    I’m right there with you wishing that Aiden’s story will end with something or someone for him to hang on to….

Leave a Reply

