A New Leaf

thurschilbadgejpg

A weekly blog hop
where writers get together
to discuss what inspires them.

I might have well and truly missed Thursday this week, but hey – if we’re sticking with the rhyme I quite like the sound of Friday’s child too!

P1040971
A carpet of gold…

Inspiration, at least has been all around me. The big flowering cherry at the front of our garden held onto its leaves well into winter this year, and finally dropped them with a flourish; turning our front lawn into a shimmering golden carpet. I wish I could have captured the way the light changed on those leaves all day, and how for a short time early in the morning and as the last fingers of sunlight played across them, they would light up and glow with an unearthly fire.

On a still day I could hear the leaves fall steadily, with a gentle shush like the brush of angelic wings. I was captivated.

I found myself constantly looking out the front window in awe and running outside to try and capture the moment on film. It was an exercise in futility. The first pictures I took on my ipod (and there were a lot because I just couldn’t quite capture the magic) refused to download or be sent by any electronic format.

The leaves continued to fall.

So I hunted out my camera only to find the charger had disappeared. As I searched through cupboards, in drawers and even a big box of ‘things to be filed,’ I prayed the wind our region is famous for would hold off until I got at least one photo.

Children frolicked through the ankle deep wonderland, and miraculously (despite leaves under the bed, down the hallway and in my wardrobe) the lawn remained covered.

One afternoon I found the charger. Some of the leaves were starting to turn brown, and I was having rake-guilt for letting them lie so long, but hope retuned… Maybe, just maybe, I could capture this moment and have something to hold onto when the sunlight grows thin and the ground hardens.

However the battery was so flat it refused to hold any charge until the sun had gone down.

In the dark, I was horribly aware it was becoming hard to hear the rustle of angel wings.

The next morning, having missed the time-between-times trying to get my own fairy court ready for school, I finally managed to get a few pictures – including the one above. Although the picture doesn’t do it justice, it’s enough to remind me to appreciate the changing beauty all around us. I want to always look for it and keep that sense of wonder.

A few days after I took that photo we were hammered by the biggest storm to hit the Wellington region in my lifetime. The winds roared up off the south pole and slammed us with an icy fury. The leaves were tossed and scattered, before driving rain turned them into piles of slimy brown jobs-to-do when the rain stops…

It pays to appreciate the moment when it comes, in life and when we’re writing. Illness and an overflowing schedule have kept me away from my own writing recently, and I’ve realised I’m going to have to make some big changes to keep my writing dream alive. If change is scary at least I know the new season will also have its own moments of wonder.

P1040981
After the storm we discovered a new water feature. Goldfish maybe?

Many thanks to the women behind this blog hop – Rhiann Wynn-Nolet (who’s hosting and moving house this week *acknowledges legendary status*) and Kristina Perez. If you want to join us (even this late), or check out whatโ€™s inspiring everyone else, click on this linky.

17 thoughts on “A New Leaf

  1. I know that exact feeling of trying to catch a particular moment of light and shadow on film. Such a fleeting instant of beauty. Even when we do have the camera, it for some reason doesn’t seem to do it justice.

    I do hope you find a way to keep your writing alive. I love your voice and want to read that book, so it must get finished. ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Sometimes I think we just need to appreciate them – although I suppose I’ll always try and capture the moment…

      I am absolutely committed to writing, it’s just how I’m going to reorder my priorities so I have enough time to finish the book. I’ve finally seen a way forward with the book and am itching to get into it. Thanks as always for your encouragement!

  2. A golden carpet of leaves and sunshine glinting through the trees – your descriptions of autumn is exactly the reason why I think it’s such a beautiful season. I’m with Kathi on hoping that you find away to keep your writing dream alive – you’re too talented not too so I’m sure you’ll find a way forward. Things are always particularly difficult when you’ve not been feeling well.

    1. Thanks Kate – and people like yourself are reasons I’m so glad I started blogging! I’m actually excited that this new season will have more time for working on Kings, it’s just the reprioritising process that is always a bit hard. But burning the candle at both ends hasn’t been working terribly well…

  3. Oh, yeah, I’m with you in that delicate balance between real world responsibilities and writing. ๐Ÿ™‚ Somehow it will work or so I keep telling myself. That and write on.
    Your post lets me know I’m not alone. Thanks.

    1. It is good to know I’m not the only one doing the balancing act – thanks. And I agree – it will work out and I am going to keep on writing! And keep on, and keep on and keep on…

  4. so glad to see you back in the blogging world! I do love fall, but we’re still trying to eek out as much summer here as we can so I don’t really like thinking about it. ๐Ÿ™‚ Not yet, at least!

    1. Thanks Alana. Oh you must enjoy every season (and especially summer). At least when I know we’re getting wintery blasts the sun should be shining on Alaska (or I hope it is)!

  5. I love this! A good reminder that some of the most beautiful things in life are meant to be fleeting, and it’s important to just sit back and appreciate them.

    Also, love the new “water feature” ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. I’m totally with you on the whatever day thing. Personally, I think I’m much more suited to whichever one of those was “full of woe.” I’m definitely not the “works hard for a living” type.

    1. Yep I was born on a Wednesday and always thought that was a bit tough. Didn’t help that I’m not… um… naturally coordinated either *can hear my husband laughing in background* – Oh and my sister was born on a Sunday (the hardship I tell you).

  7. Mm, I know the feeling! Photographs rarely capture that something that we experience when we see these things. Sometimes I just have to take a picture, but sometimes the camera seems to get in my way.
    I suppose Spring is coming your ways soon (or is already upon you?) while Autumn is falling, here.

    Have some Robert Frost. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Nature’s first green is gold,
    Her hardest hue to hold.
    Her early leaf’s a flower;
    But only so an hour.
    Then leaf subsides to leaf.
    So Eden sank to grief,
    So dawn goes down to day.
    Nothing gold can stay.

    1. How beautiful – thank you. And I agree, the photo is only the trigger for the memory, and often a turn of phrase is a better way to truly capture the depth of the moment.

      Strangely the tree is (a flowering cherry) is now at the heavy end of blossoming when both leaves and flowers are competing for space… strangely I was trying to take photos of it again the other day (it’s the view from my workdesk) – but the light was all wrong (white blossoms against a dull cloudy sky)… perhaps I can the find some words of my own?

Leave a Reply

