Reflections – WIPpet Wednesday

Happy WIPpet Wednesday! My favourite blog day of the week, where the fearless WIPpeteers crack open their works in progress and dare to bare them to the world in all their first draft glory! (It’s not for the faint-of-heart, I can assure you).

True to my word, this week’s WIPpet is from my new WIP, The Moon is Made of Glass, and continues on from last week’s offering. If you want to read the beginning here’s the link. Otherwise here are 10 more paragraphs (3 for the 3rd + 7 for the 7th month) in honour of the 3rd of July:

Impossibly, the reflection was growing. The tiny circle of silver continued to expand, until it reached out to the very edges of the pond. Carys wanted very badly to look up, to see if the moon was in fact coming closer, but she couldn’t tear her gaze away.

“What do you see?” The old woman shoved Carys forward, so she almost lost her balance, teetering just above the water. Hands thrust forward to break her fall – but she caught herself just short of the surface.

What did the old woman think was in the pond?

“Look closer.”

It was hard to concentrate with the old woman pressed against her back, breathing in her ear. But Carys shifted her weight forward and peered into the silvery depths. Her reflection was perfect against the mirrored surface; her dark curls tumbling about her face, swinging gently above the water. Her skin was luminous in the reflected light, pale and flawless; otherworldly. Even her eyes seemed to belong to someone else, a shimmering silver as wide and round as the moon.

“I don’t see anything.” Her voice, tinged with disappointment bounced back at her off the water.

“But you do,” the woman said. “Tell me what it is.”

“Just the moon. That’s all there is – and our reflections…”

Her voice faltered and a cold shiver, like still, deep water enveloped her. Her refection was caught perfectly, crisp and clear. Right down to the uninterrupted curve of her shoulder. But instead of a shape or a shadow where the old woman should have been there was only the moon.

The woman let out a sigh, a contented sound of confirmation and shoved the girl hard between the shoulder blades.

This passage is part of the prologue to The Moon is Made of Glass, so although I’m leaving you with a (little) cliff-hanger, you will find out the fate of young Carys next week.

Where the prologue leaves off anyway.

Sadly the rest of the story will have to wait until I’ve finished The Fall of the Kings. I’m gearing up for a big push to get the first draft finished, which means I’m going to be taking a hiatus from the blog once I clear the decks around here. I’ve been so inspired by everyone else’s finished offerings that I’m determined to get mine done too!

Many thanks to the lovely K.L. Schwengel for faithfully hosting WIPpet Wednesday. If you’d like to join us, or just check out the other WIPpeteers head on over to this linky.

Happy writing! (And don’t forget to swing by on Friday where the lovely Kate Frost is answering all my questions about The Butterfly Storm!)

25 thoughts on “Reflections – WIPpet Wednesday

  1. First instinct: Never trust someone without a reflection. EVIL! EVIL!
    Second instinct: The eyes are wrong! Body snatcher!!!
    Third Instinct: I want ice cream.
    Fourth instinct: I honestly don’t have a clue what’s going on and should stop pretending I do. πŸ˜‰

  2. Ooh this has just got even better! Mysterious, intriguing and beautiful. Great ending too – I want to know more! I’m looking forward to Friday! πŸ™‚

    1. Thanks Kate. And I’m looking forward to… he he it is Friday (gosh I’ve been tardy around here this week). And true to form it’s going to be a live posting because I didn’t get around to scheduling… Will post late today though so as to be in like with UK dates (nothing at all to do with playing catch up today with other committments!).

  3. This is lovely Raewyn, really magical language. You’ve conjured up the detail so well, it’s like you’ve weaved a spell with words. I’m keen to know what happens to Carys next.

  4. Wow!! Really an excellent hook and a fantastic way to leave us dangling by our throats over a very big ravine. Ooooh, evil WIPpeteer! πŸ˜‰

    Good luck on your push to the finish line! It’s a great feeling and loads of fun.

    1. And you know the WIPpet maths didn’t need too much gymnastics to end there either.

      Thanks for the encouragement, I’m looking forward to really spending some good time on the big push – although I’m going to have to go underground to do it!

    1. Thanks for your support as always. I realised that I was writing about not writing, and not managing to keep up with the blogs (like yours) that I like to follow. Hopefully the hiatus won’t be too long (and I’ll still stop by online – and of course TADA)…

  5. Well done Raewyn. I read last weeks WIPpet and this one right after each other. The mystery is… well killing me! Can’t wait to find out what happens next. You have a magical way of portraying the relationship between the characters with such few words. πŸ™‚

    1. I’m glad you like it – it might sound weird but I was a bit the same as I was writing it… what is in that pool? I’m hoping the reveal (such as it is) tomorrow will live up to expectation!

Leave a Reply

